Leap of Faith

Papery wings are easily torn

and yet these wings were made to fly.

These wings can’t soar without support

and yet my muscles urge to try.

I leapt from heights with fatal falls

and let my paper wings fail me

just so yours would beat the winds

and catch me before my wings

did kill.

IMG_0143

I drew this picture before I wrote this poem. I guess you could say it was the inspiration. I’m sure you’ll notice how disproportionate the man’s hands are to the rest of his body; I didn’t do that purposefully. When I finished the drawing and looked back on it, at first I was ready to erase his hands and redo them; then I caught myself, thinking how wonderfully perfect they were for the message of the drawing, and the poem. An accidental point to be made.

Categories: Art, Drawing, Poetry | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

